04 Feb 2023                                 Culpeper, VA



Culpeper Minutemen Chapter President Tom Hamill was

the master of ceremonies for today's program.


     Today, over 65 people gathered in the Museum of Culpeper History to honor "forgotten patriots" of the American Revolution.  Charles James of the Culpeper Minutemen Chapter organized the celebration which was hosted by the Museum of Culpeper History.  Notable attendees included Culpeper Mayor Frank Reaves, Culpeper County Board of Supervisors Chairman Gary Deal, Virginia SAR 1st and 3rd Vice Presidents, Ernie Coggins and Mike Weyler, representatives of six SAR Chapters:  Colonel James Wood II, Colonel William Grayson, Culpeper Minutemen, Fairfax Resolves, George Washington, and Sergeant Major John Champe; two DAR Chapters, Culpeper Minute Men and Fauquier Court House.  Very Special guests were descendants of Philip Slaughter, officer of the Culpeper Minutemen and the Continental Line, and his enslaved valet, Spencer Slaughter, both patriots of the American Revolution and remarkable men.

     There were two main addresses, the first by Culpeper Minutemen Chapter Honorary President Charles Jameson, descendant of Lt. David Jameson of the 1775 Culpeper Minutemen, on "Forgotten Patriots", and the second by Katherine Slaughter, descendant of Philip Slaughter on the service of both Philip and Spencer Slaughter and their descendants.





Culpeper Minutemen Chapter Chaplain John Kuvakas delivers the invocation.












Cheryl Hackley, descendant of Spencer Slaughter, receives an SAR Challenge Coin from Charles Jameson


President Tom Hamill, on left, and Honorary President Charles Jameson, present a Certificate of Appreciation and an SAR Challenge Coin to Philip Slaughter descendant Kate Slaughter.


Gregory Hackley, descendant of Spencer Slaughter, receives an SAR Challenge Coin from Charles Jameson.



President Tom Hamill presents a Certificate of Appreciation to Museum of Culpeper History Director John Christenson for hosting this ceremony.









          During the ceremony today President Tom Hamill presented the SAR Medal of Appreciation to Kelly Kuvakas for bringing to our chapter her husband, her son, and her grandson.  Kelly is a member of the Fauquier Court House Chapter DAR.


Wreath presentations, left to right: Virginia SAR wreath presented by 3rd VP Mike Weyler, Culpeper Minutemen Chapter Wreath presented by President Tom Hamill, Fairfax Resolves Chapter Wreath presented by President Forrest Crain, Col James Wood II Chapter wreath presented by President Chip Daniel, Sgt Maj John Champe Chapter wreath presented by President Ken Bonner, Fauquier Court House Chapter NSDAR wreath presented by Honorary Regent Cat Schwetke.




The Color Guard with the Wreath Presenters, kneeling left to right: Sean Carrigan, Dale Corey. Standing left to right: Marc Robinson, Will Reynolds, Virginia SAR 3rd VP Mike Weyler, Dave Cook, CMM President Tom Hamill, CMM Color Guard Commander Michael Dennis, Forrest Crain, Richard Tyler, Chip Daniel, Ken Bonner, Bill Schwetke, Cat Schwetke, Paul Christenson, Barry Schwoerer


Share this post:


Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment