The Color Guard


Surrender of Lord Cornwallis (1820) by Patriot John Trumbull, 1756-1843,
The Rotunda, U.S. Capitol, Washington, DC.
“The Baron Steuben mentioned when he was here that he would settle with your Excellency some Plan as to the Colours. It was intended that every Regiment should have two Colours—one the Standard of the United States which should be the same throughout the Army & the other a Regimental Colour which should vary according to the facings of the Regiments. But it is not yet settled what the Standard of the U. States is. If your Excellency will therefore favor us with your Opinion on the Subject we will report to Congress & request them to establish a Standard & so soon as this is done we will endeavour to get Materials & order a Number made sufficient for the Army. Neither can we tell what should be the Regimental Colours as the Uniforms were by a late resolution of Congress to be settled by your Excellency.”
The Board of War to General Washington, May 10th, 1779

Commanders of the Virginia SAR Color Guard

Commander Andrew Johnson
18 February 2006 – 09 February 2008
Commander Lawrence McKinley
09 February 2008 – 13 February 2010
Commander Robert Andrews
13 February 2010 – 23 February 2012
Commander Peter Davenport
23 February 2012 – 15 February 2014
Commander Darrin Schmidt
15 February 2014 - 11 February 2017
Commander William Schwetke
11 February 2017 – 09 February 2019
Commander Paul Chase
09 February 2019 – 14 September 2019
Commander Kenneth Bonner
14 September 2019 – 12 February 2022
Commander Christopher Melhuish
12 February 2022 – 10 February 2024
Commander Brett Osborn                                          10 February 2024 --